A landlord and tenant can agree in a rental agreement that the tenant pays prepaid rent. When a lessor receives prepaid rent, he or she is deposited into a receiver account in a federal insurance custodian authorized to work in Virginia until the end of the fifth business day following receipt and remains in the account until the prepaid rent is due. Unless the landlord has the right to receive a portion of the rent paid in advance, it will not be withdrawn from the faithful account required by this section without the written consent of the tenant. If a prior written notification has been sent to the lessor, which requires the lessor to remedy an offence and that the lessor repair such an offence where the lessor intentionally commits an after-the-fact offence similar to that of the previous offence, the tenant may notify the lessor of a written notification indicating the acts and omissions that constitute the subsequent offence, the previous offence of the same nature, and declare that the tenancy agreement ends at least 30 days after the notification. Each lease agreement must be carefully developed and verified and understood by all parties prior to signing, to avoid any misunderstanding and to ensure that everyone is committed to the matter. The Virginia Standard Residential Lease Agreement is a legally binding lease agreement for residential real estate used between the tenant and the landlord and for which the tenant describes the terms of the contract. Before signing an agreement, customers should make sure to check all sections of the document. If, for some reason, the tenant is unsure of the language of the agreement, he may consider consulting a competent lawyer for clarification and/or legal advice. If the unit or building is damaged or destroyed by a fire or accident to such an extent that the tenant has severely affected the apartment or the necessary repairs can only be made when the tenant has evacuated the unit, the tenant or landlord may terminate the lease. The tenant can terminate the lease by clearing the premises and by telling the lessor in writing, within 14 days, that he intends to terminate the lease, in which case the lease ends at the time of eviction.
April 11, 2021